International Woman’s Day

Of course I thought of it. I am sure you did too. We just didn’t say anything then. Some of us didn’t say it because of the fear of the consequences of the alternative, so we prayed instead. Some didn’t say it, because acknowledging it would be so uncool. Fact remains one of the largest democracies wasn’t ready for a woman president.

World over women are fighting for equality. Many a times, I cannot tell the actual fight from all the noise. At the outset unless men start to shed their uterus monthly and can bear children like women do, there are inherent differences between men and women. Some of the fight for equality I understand. I too want a voice, a vote, a choice. It is the women that make the waters murky that I don’t.

There is a wave of anti-women’s day by women. I have read blog posts, news articles and messages, Facebook updates that claim they don’t need the women’s day. All women need is equality. I get it. I don’t believe in marches either. I believe, if our actions don’t bring about a real change then the actions were futile. Perhaps how women perceive these women’s days. However for change to take place, someone needs to raise their voice, once the voice is raised, an action can be taken and when years of actions have been taken, a day is  chosen to celebrate that change.

And on this day, I want to take the opportunity to talk to women that confuse empowerment with lack of basic human dignity. There is power in kindness, compassion and generosity. There is something to be said about being dignified and well mannered. Women who think breaking away from tradition or culture and societal norms is empowering, I would hope you don’t think, becoming like the men we fight against is asking for equality.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Challenges, Culture, Environment, Life, Opinion, Philosophy, Society, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

