How unlucky can I get?

I have never had any luck. I have come to believe no one really does. Success comes from working towards what you want. Some times despite our best efforts things still don’t go our way. My philosophy has changed from, I always have a plan B to thank god the English alphabets go on until “Z”.

I have resigned to the lack of luck so much that I would never buy a lottery ticket, never gamble, never buy raffle tickets, never do anything in which “luck” has to play a part. It got so bad that last year at a deli when the cashier said me,”Hey want to scratch this card for a free coffee?”. I immediately said, “no, luck is never on my side”. “Try it” he said, “it wont cost you”. So I did and didn’t earn a free coffee. I shrugged my shoulders and started to pay for the coffee. The cashier must have felt really bad for me so he offered the coffee on the house.

Pity is even worse than lack of luck in my books, but to let him feel better about his generosity I graciously accepted the free coffee.

For the past few weeks I have been thinking about that interaction. I have been wondering if I have been thwarting my own lady luck’s throat. Perhaps she is around all the time and I just don’t see it. I did end up getting that coffee at no cost.

So in the spirit of letting go, I will try to change my attitude towards life and be more open to the goodness that is begging to come my way. What do you think?

 

2 Comments

Filed under A first, Abstract, Attitude, Challenges, Determination, Expectations, Experiences, Life, People, Personal, Philosophy, Society

2 responses to “How unlucky can I get?

  1. Err, people say I am lucky for them. They win in Vegas if I am telling them what to chose. My table wins the most prizes during our Christmas party raffles. A friend who works in another company said she won an iPad for the first time ever cuz I hung out with her just before the party. Almost all the guys I spoke to in 2016 from matri websites have a wedding pic on their whatsapp dp. 😀
    But my own luck won’t work with me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

