Is this really the end?

When I got hospitalized my mother cancelled her surgery which was to be in less than a day and flew to the US. Of course that caused a bit of a panic in the family. Since I have been away from family and friends for almost 20 years now, I didn’t want a flurry of activity on Facebook.  Yes I write about myself and my life on a public forum but I consider myself an extremely private person. Funny how that works. There was no way I would indulge in personal information exchange on Facebook, by people I don’t really consider close to me.

Well if you didn’t get the drift, this post is about Facebook. Or the lack thereof. So I deactivated my account. It is a huge step for me

I consider myself a Facebook addict. I got my parents an account.. That is how much I believed in the power of Facebook. I spent 8 months of my life raising awareness on cancer and raise money for the American Cancer Society- On Facebook. I loved the fact that I wouldn’t miss anyone’s birthday and nothing gives me more pleasure than making someone happy on their birthday! And now I know why. It is a big deal to be born. You could be perfectly normal and you can still be lost. So if you made it into this world, you need to be celebrated.

Sometime last year I hit a 1000 friends. The number of social media friends I have is very small. Like 5 perhaps. It has taken me years to get to that level of opening up. So everyone else are people I know in person. For sometime now, I started to realize that people do not even thank me for the yearly birthday wishes. There was absolutely no communication. The notification feeds on Facebook wall, just keeps me bored and forces me to judge people in ways I don’t want to. I find people just becoming haters, intolerant and disgruntled. Not exactly the point of Facebook if you ask me.

Even after I deactivated my account, my husband reported that he could still see my page. So only I wasn’t looking at my account but everyone else could.  It’s been more than 3 weeks and I haven’t missed it one bit. My husband (I am responsible for his account as well) tries once in a while to get me back to it. For now I am staying away. I am little concerned about missing 209 wishes on Facebook on my birthday which is less than 6 weeks away. But then really it is the 10/12 people who care about my birthday anyway. Those are the only people that matter to me too.

So here I am wondering am I finally over my Facebook addiction? Has anyone of you got off Facebook? What was your experience?

2 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Decisions, Determination, Friendship, Life, Living my life, Personal, Rants, Society, Thoughts, Update

2 responses to “Is this really the end?

  1. Thanu

    I deacttivated my account 4 years ago, and I do not miss it. I think it is the best thing that happened to me. People who really want to be in touch, email and text me. I’m glad to get so much clutter off my life too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg! It’s been so many years since I heard from you on this blog!!! Yeah. In staying on deactivation mode. I plan to get all the birthdays of people I truly care about then eventually just delete the account. I am so happy to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

