I don’t want to ask for money!

I saw the opportunity to volunteer for a local community event. It was good time in my life to do something for people who weren’t my family, friends or loved ones. American Cancer Society, Relay for life seemed like a sensible organization to volunteer for. I have been at the medical end of cancer for a while now. We put together facts and tell our patients what we think is their prognosis. Mostly it comes down to delivering bad news. Sometimes we win, most times we don’t. This was an opportunity to work with people who don’t rely on evidence based medicine, but rely on hope and prayers, strength and pure grit.

I have been involved for a few months now as the lead media person maintaining our local relay’s Facebook page and Twitter account. Our event is very small with a handful of committee members. Through volunteering I have met some wonderful people from my community that I have lived in for the last 6 years. I have heard their own cancer survival stories, or stories about loved ones which didn’t end so well. In spite of their loss and suffering these people hang on to hope that perhaps in their lifetime, they will see a cure for cancer.

Being a person of science and from the medical field, facts that I know cloud my own hopes. But the power of faith that these few individuals exhibit at every interaction I make with them, moves me and motivates me like no other.

What I would like most is for you to come join us at our event to cheer our wonderful Relayers who have taken upon themselves to walk for 12 hours fundraising and increasing awareness about the work American Cancer Society does for research, treatment and care for cancer patients and their families.

Thank you for reading until the end. Even if you cannot make it I am happy that you have read through. I am glad I have been able to make your aware of this organization and hopefully in the future you can get involved in your own ways.

Sometimes it take more than money to make a difference!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Hope, Life

2 responses to “I don’t want to ask for money!

  1. SA

    So happy for you..
    And it is great what you are doing.. !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

