My dear girlfriends!

I am blessed with all of you in my life. You have stuck by me through all these years. It says more about you being a good friend than me. You all have put up with my brutal honesty, my lack of social skills bordering at awkwardness. You all gave me the space when I needed to focus on my education. Thankfully you continue to do so. You all encourage me when I embark on my new adventures and have always had a kind word to soothe me. Sometimes I feel like you all know me better than I know myself. For that I am very grateful.

Over the years we have all grown up, aged and changed as people. Some for the better, some not so much. Despite our changing priorities I am grateful to still have you in my life. I hope you know I understand you are not the same person you were 10 years ago. I understand your need for space, growth and new friends. I hope that you can do that too.

There are somethings I don’t understand though. I don’t understand your lack of confidence in yourself. You are educated with careers you have chosen, have great families and wonderful children to speak of. You may not have everything on your list, but from where I and the rest of world sees it, you have arrived in life. I hope you can see it too.

Some of us are happily married. I hope you know marriage is a work in progress. Let me rephrase. Marriage is a daily work in progress. There is no denying, I have been very blessed with my husband. By no means is he perfect or our relationship without its failings. We have great days and we have terrible ones. Point being, men aren’t perfect but neither are we. You may not have what I have, but you will get what you are destined for. Don’t give up on love and happiness and a great partner.

Most of all, I don’t understand your lack of enthusiasm for life, lack of opinion, lack of the fire we had all set out with. Like you have for me, I am happy to step back if you need the time. I hope you bounce back. We have so much to live for, so much to see, so much to enjoy,and so much to fight for. There will be tears and disappointments through it all, but remember there will always be us!

2 Comments

Filed under A first, Bonding, Camaraderie, Coach, Communication, Confusion, Decisions, Disappointments, Emotions, Environment, Expectations, Experiences, Life, Opinion, People, Thoughts

2 responses to “My dear girlfriends!

  1. SA

    I like your post.. !! “Keep a little fire burning; However small, however hidden..”

    Like

    • Yes, we need the fire. We are the generation that will continue to pave the way for future generations. Are work is not done yet. We have so much more to achieve. I cannot stress it enough.

      I am glad you like the post! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

