Checking the box.

One would think that is all it takes. To do everything on your list. A checkbox list sometimes forced upon by the society we live in, rather than motivated by what we think is the right thing to do.

What maybe right for me may not be right for you. So then how does the society decide what is right, real or acceptable for everyone. While these check boxes continue to be arbitrary, why do we feel so compelled to check them?

Do we have to? Isn’t the alternative sufficient? Can we not chalk out our own path? What happens to those that dare?

When is enough, really enough?

4 Comments

Filed under Abstract, Environment, Expectations, Relationships, Society, Thoughts

4 responses to “Checking the box.

  1. Fairly deep stuff here, dear. Without knowing the context of your questions it is hard to really answer the underlying questions.

    I know this, though, you are struggling with something. You will be in my thoughts and prayers as you work to find the answers you’re seeking

    Like

  2. SA

    I have been questioning this all along. The society created framework and the check boxes.. One thing that I realized- It wasnt just about my check boxes my family also had check boxes to fill which were directly linked to me.. That makes it even more convoluted.

    Ex: My mother has a Grand Children check box.. You get the point?

    Like

    • I know. I have heard this so many times in the last few days. I checked all the boxes, so how could I go wrong. Well, sometimes you just have to look outside of them. I totally hear about other people’s expectations. I have stopped caring about those a long time ago.

      Like

Leave a Reply

