Things I am never going to tell my swim coach

Sir, (I don’t call him sir, I do call him coach when I want to be sarcastic) I think you are the best thing that has happened to me this year.

A part of me thinks you are a swim god. I am mesmerized with the ease with which you move around water. I am in awe after I have watched you swim the breast stroke/ free style/back stroke. You look like you own it. “King of the pool” should really catch on.

I am a little intimidated by you. I recognize, I have to completely let go, body and mind for this to work. I don’t like to let go of control and yet I do. You truly command the pool and I trust you enough that I let you have that command over me. This is new to me which is intimidating.

When you tell me just do this or just do that, I sometimes want to smack you in the head. Sir, you have been swimming for the last 21 years of your life. I have been at this now for 10 weeks and I am not 6 years old. So no, it isn’t as easy or obvious or instinctive as it seems to you.

There are times when I hear the disappointment in your voice. I know you try really hard not to let me know. When you are happy, I hear you laugh and say good and I feel your excitement even through the chlorinated pool water. So I know, don’t try to hide it. I am a big girl I can take it. I do however appreciate your encouragement.

I feel like I have no dignity left with you. As a lady, you have now heard me burp, fart, and see me gloriously snort all in the pool several times. Its been a recent realization, but you seem unfazed. It is awkward no doubt, but I guess this is what sportsmen are made of. No shame.

True this is about me, but it is also about you. I have never taken so well to sports or pushing myself this hard. And then I met you. You come across as extremely hardworking, kind, encouraging, and in spite of all your accomplishments you are so humble. Your discipline, focus and drive have truly inspired me. You have shown me a part of me, that I didn’t know existed. I feel like I am better person because of you and for that I cannot thank you enough!

Thanks Coach, and no this time I am not being sarcastic.

 

4 Comments

Filed under A first, Communication, Experiences, Fears, Issues, Life, Motivation, Personal, Thoughts

4 responses to “Things I am never going to tell my swim coach

  1. SA

    Inspiring :).. Also love the new theme and I see that you have now moved everything to the right.. Looks pretty cool :)..!! Looking forward to more changes…

    Like

  2. Thank you! Also thanks for the encouragement/information about theme changes. I like this one so far. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Letter to my coach! | SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS

  4. Pingback: Friday Fives! | SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS

Leave a Reply

