Mind games

I pretend I need more sleep to get through the day. I need the rest. There is a life out there that requires to be lived. I  pretend I need to sleep to live. I wonder if mind games ever work. Does a person who keeps his watch five minutes ahead of time ever make it on time for the meeting. If knowing the real time doesn’t keep us on time, how would lying to ourselves help?

I check the time. It is a minute before the alarm is due to ring.  I wait. I switch it to snooze when it does. I have 9 more minutes before the alarm will ring again. I pretend. Those  9 minutes is all I need to get up and live!

Leave a comment

Filed under Abstract, Experiences, Life, Motivation, Personal, Philosophy

Leave a Reply

