Welcome 2010!

We are already five days into 2010. A whole decade gone. I am going to take time to reflect as to what have I actually achieved in the last 10 years.  How ever I think at this juncture it is equally important to figure out what I would like out of the next decade.

I am in my fourth year of blogging. Im not as regular as I used to be. I have even been accused of changing my writing style. If anything, I have always written for myself. That I understand can bring about a lot of inconsistencies in writing but atleast the intention has been consistent. I plan to continue. I am going to make no promises to myself. I will take it as it comes. I have so much to talk about and share. I hope that some day I will.

I am making 2010 my year for career growth. While I have been struggling to get a solid footing in my field, I have always made everything else a priority. I have given time to family and friends and partner. This year it is going to be all about me. If that means no phone calls, or emails, or socializing so be it. I have great support from my partner and I am going to make this support count.

I am going to actively look out for read worthy blogs. I am going to broaden my horizon from personal to medical, politics and fashion blogs.  I am also going to develop the patience and reading capacity to read posts that are longer than 500 words. My first step towards that goal was to read this post from a blogger that I have come to read and respect.

I want to say I will develop a hobby, get in shape and so and so forth. But then I have also decided to stick to what I do best. I do not lie!  Hence I make no such statements.

I am going to try and keep fewer expectations from people around me. I am also going to take reactions less personally. Last year I struggled with keeping a friendship that has survived me for quite a while now. When things hit rock bottom I did away with all expectations even  those of common courtesy, basic manners and some sensitivity. The results were miraculous.

For next year I would like to travel more. I am hoping that I get to go to one destination outside the US not including India and one inside. Fingers crossed for this one!

I’m excited about this year for me. I hope you are too.

13 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Camaraderie, Communication, Decisions, Environment, Expectations, Experiences, Friends, Goal, Life, Milestones, Motivation, People, Personal, Resolutions, Society, Thoughts

13 responses to “Welcome 2010!

  1. presorted

    Happy new Year 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy New Year to you. Let this truly be your year.

    As usual your post finds some resonance in me. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Like

  3. Presorted:
    Thanks, are you blogging again?

    Shankari:
    Thank you. Thank you and thank you. It is indeed a pleasure to have some people enjoy what you write!

    Like

  4. Agree with Shankari. This one finds resonance. Last year, somehow was a year of contemplation and discovery of sorts. This is a to-do year. Beyond blogging. All the best – we all have lots to do and write! 😀

    Like

  5. Gaizabonts:
    I will look forward to the intellectual exchange. All the best to you too.

    Like

  6. Love the resolution of keeping the whole year to yourself. Wish you remain firm on your resolution.

    All my best for 2010.

    Epiphany day has crossed, now you should take down your Christmas tree if you haven’t yet.

    Like

  7. Happy new year to you. All the best.

    Like

  8. So many days and my comment has not appeared. I should stop commenting on your page I guess
    satya

    Like

  9. Jarvarm:
    Thank you! Good to see you.

    Like

  10. Satya:
    I plan on being firm. Will keep the blog updated. The tree will be taken care off this weekend. Thanks for your wishes. Wish you a fantastic 2010 too.

    Like

  11. happy new year ! hope your career goes as you planned in 2010. keep the blog going though. 🙂

    Like

  12. TAK:
    I plan to! 🙂 Thanks wish you the same

    Like

  13. Pingback: The year that was.. « SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS

Leave a Reply

