Stranger in my own home.

I was born and brought up in Bombay. I have been away from Mumbai for almost 10 years now. I have come back for holidays and extended breaks, 7 months being the maximum that I have stayed here.

I didn’t spend my youth here. I don’t know this city like an 18 year old would or a 22 year old or a 28 year old does. I haven’t had movie getaways, or late nights with college friends, work parties, shopping with girl friends, long lunches. I don’t know the lanes, I don’t know the latest hang outs, I don’t know what the pulse of the city is. At least what it is perceived to be. I can’t speak the local language either.

Slowly and steadily I have been making an effort. I am getting good at it too. I have been regularly adding phone numbers on my phone. Some I am confident will remain there.

All this effort knowing too well in a few months time I will make a move again. I will lose some friends. I will lose all familiarity. I will have to start afresh. I have done that so many times the last few years I seem to be getting good at it. A part of me enjoys that. A part of me wants to settle down.

Being a stranger in your own city isn’t fun. Yet I feel at home in Mumbai. This is home. A place that has an ever changing energy, vibe, facade even. Yet the soul remains the same. I know no matter how far I go or Mumbai does when we meet, it feel like coming back home again.

6 Comments

Filed under Bonding, Camaraderie, Culture, Emotions, Environment, Expectations, Experiences, Faith, Fears, Friends, People, Rants, Society, Thoughts

6 responses to “Stranger in my own home.

  1. i have heard so much about the ‘soul’ of bombay, and have visited there a couple of times and felt its uniqueness in my own way. could identify with the idea of being a stranger in one’s own place…i spent most of my youth away from my town too…

    somehow though, i am able to identify pretty well with most of the places i lived in. feel at home just about everywhere!

    PS: had to stub out my cigarette before i dropped in to comment šŸ˜›

    Like

  2. And that’s the feeling that would keep you going šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Well it happens to me when I go to Shillong and it seems stranger and stranger to me.. but heck.. the feeling of coming home when I step in that soil is incomparable.. šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Dharmabum:
    It is such an honour to see you on my blog. Many thanks for making the effort to stub out your cigarette. Means a lot to the environmentalist and health professional in me. šŸ™‚

    I think each place has it’s own uniqueness and it’s soul. When one can identify with it, one feels one with the place. Home for me is Mumbai. It could have been any other city was I born there.

    Rohit:
    And coming back too. šŸ™‚

    Pallavi:
    You so know what I mean! Exactly!! šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I sooo know what you mean…sigh. I left too early.

    Like

  6. MCP:
    I know. It gets harder to go back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

