Thinking beyond the box.

The last time I felt similar anxiety was before one of my vivas. The feeling of not being able to come up with the right answer is daunting.

This time the feeling was worse. I had no answers. I was going to step into an area I know nothing of.

I am aware of my handicap of seeing beyond the box. I don’t know why 2 educated seemingly normal people can’t stand the thought of each other. Or why a mother loves her children no matter how they treat her. Why a father has a tear in his eye when he watches his child sleep in his arms. Why the sky and the wind and the water appear full of life when in love. I don’t understand  the concept of friendship, love or time for that matter.

Yet I decided to take this step. Was it for me or for a friend. I wasn’t sure. But I was ready to take the plunge. Some times knowing you will find a friend at the other end of that plunge is a comforting thought. One doesn’t know for sure. But one cannot know unless you take the fall.

Few phone calls were made in preparation , only to realise no matter what I did I was not going to be prepared for what was to come.

Conversations over coffee. And cookies this time!

I didn’t need any sugar  for the buzz I felt. The company of three extremely talented individuals can do much more  for the soul than any amount of sugar or coffee or even chocolate . I realised. We discussed colours, perceptions, life, death, daughters, mother-in-laws, art and artists and freedom of expression.

I may still not know anything about the area of expertise of the three very talented people that I met. But I have come back realising that it is I who restricts myself. I can free my thought process and think beyond the box. That isn’t a function of what is around me, it is a function of what I allow it to be.

2 Comments

Filed under A first, Abstract, Bonding, Camaraderie, Communication, Experiences, Faith, Friends, Thoughts

2 responses to “Thinking beyond the box.

  1. “The company of three extremely talented individuals can do much more for the soul than any amount of sugar or coffee or even chocolate.”

    Truly!

    Blessings to you, my friend.

    Like

  2. Nick:
    Thank you. How are you doing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

