Today!

For some time now all I have been doing is working towards making today a success story.

There is a time bound application process for residency programs which I had missed. So today was a small chance in what is called a scramble. A 0.5% chance to be realistic. I was going to give that 0.5% chance my 100%

I started making calls and identifying possible contacts that would help me get a residency spot. Agonising my favoured support system a few days ago wasn’t the smartest thing to do. But then I am not always thinking. Also if it happened, there must have been a reason. So I got past that and decided this was the time to look forward. I put all my energies in doing just that.

Finishing touches to the C.V, personal statements, on line applications and documents were made. A back up plan was thought of and some work was put into it. Laptop was synchronised to a fax machine. All documents were scanned. 2 phones lines were made available. Over 300 jobs were researched in 3 different specialities. Excel sheets were printed.

All for today.To tell you of my miraculous success story.

After all that effort one would think the reason I write is because congratulations are in order. Sorry. I are far from that. I don’t have a residency in hand. I am running out of visa time. I don’t have the support I was banking on. My back up hasn’t taken any shape yet and I feel really tired.

But here is what did happen. I think I am better prepared for next time. And yes I have decided there will be a next time. I am going to take one risk. I know I have to. I am going to work as hard if not harder to make my back plan shape up. A lost friend from 4 years ago reappeared. Last thing I needed today was an emotional break down. I have survived the day without making impulsive phone calls. Some thing in me tells me I am in a better place already.

8 Comments

Filed under A first, Communication, Decisions, Disappointments, Emotions, Environment, Expectations, Experiences, Facts, Faith, Fears, Friends, Goal, Life, Milestones, Motivation, Pain, People, Personal, Resolutions, Thoughts

8 responses to “Today!

  1. That’s one hell of an attitude. Keep it up, wish everyone can look at positives in this way.

    All my best

    Like

  2. But I like the hyper-goddamn-everything EU better! 😉

    Like

  3. Satya:
    Thanks mate. Means a lot.

    Grey Shades:
    I like that EU better too. :))

    Like

  4. i think sometimes what we learn along the journey is even more enriching and enlightening than the end. And that just makes it a whole lot better 🙂 If not now, if not today, you will be there tomorrow- I think we all can see that. The attitude is definitely there- the attitude of a winner . Smile 🙂

    Like

  5. LMM:
    Aap ke muh main ghee shakkar. 😀

    Like

  6. In the words of my friend, “rejection = determination”….. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

