Looking back.

I don’t think I have been a fan of New Year’s eve for some time now. Last year I sounded almost angry with the way the world was shaping up.

New year’s day come and go but some things don’t change. I still yearn to be in the hospital. I yearn that a lot more now.

I had failed an exam. For most people around me it should have been over for me. So they said or projected in their sympathetic tone. I saw it as a second chance. When I bounced back , I did better than what I had expected myself to do. The battle isn’t won yet. It suffices to know I am still fighting.

While I was struggling this past year, my good friend and I have had the chance to reconnect. After all these years we finally live in the same city. We are still discovering each other. It makes me really happy to know she is only a train ride away.

I may not have done a lot of things in my life but I have finally seen Taj Mahal. Makes me proud. May be I should make that list of what-I- want-to-do-before-I-die.

I was taken aback by the media coverage of the Virginia Tech massacre. They kept putting the blame on doctors and teachers and parents and so on and so forth. It was annoying. It is always easy to point fingers later. One generally tends to do the best they know how when put in a situation. I strongly believe that incidents such as these should prompt us to tackle situations in the future and stop playing the blame game.

People should also be educated about their health. It hits hard when it hits close to home.

No matter what there is always joy. I found mine in them. I am sorry one had to go.

I also find my jollies in standing up for myself. I do it rarely, as I know one should pick his battles wisely. Some times one just has to.

How ever there is nothing like the love of a niece. Her Christmas gift this year was a scarf and hat knitted by yours truly. I don’t know about her but I know the parents wont get over my generosity for a long time. When is Rakhi any one? Muhahahaha!

For the first time this year I was determined to take photos of my home town. Mumbai. I am no talent, which doesn’t stop me from loving my own photos. I am so tired of the infamous snake charmer being the all encompassing representative of my country, that I had to take many many photos from my point of view.

I learnt how to play scrabble. I am still single.

All in all this has been a good year. I have learnt a lot. Lived even more. I am quite looking forward to next year. Wishes for a superb year to all of you.

14 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Experiences, Facts, Friends, Goal, Health, Life, Milestones, People, Personal, Questions., Rants, Relationships, Resolutions, Society, Thoughts, Wishes

14 responses to “Looking back.

  1. Duhita

    Happy New Year!!!:) May all your dreams come true, chals all nahi toh….some at least:)

    Like

  2. I last made a New Year’s resolution about 15 years ago when I resolved not to make any more New Year’s resolutions.

    In the coming year may you also have… –
    Walls for the wind
    And a roof for the rain,
    And drinks bedside the fire
    Laughter to cheer you
    And those you love near you,
    And all that your heart may desire

    Like

  3. Hi,

    Nice way to encapsulate the important events on your blog…

    Wishing you a happy new year. More wishes on my blog …

    Like

  4. yes it certainly seems you’ve learnt a lot from this year. atleast thats what the blog says! πŸ™‚ Wish you too a great new year lady.

    Like

  5. Quite an eventful year!

    Wishing you a very happy and peaceful new year too, EU. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Duhita:
    Being practical I see. FINALLY. πŸ˜›

    Nick:
    Thank you. That is such a lovely wish.

    Satya:
    Thank you. Thank you and I am going to your blog next. πŸ™‚

    Grey Shades:
    Oh and my blog doesn’t lie. πŸ™‚ Thanks wish you the same.

    RB:
    Thanks a ton. Yeah it was eventful. So was your’s. How is the job treating ya?

    Like

  7. Wishing you a happy new year πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Yep, mine too. I left the job four months back to concentrate on my exams. Need to start thinking about going back to working now.

    Like

  9. Sangeeta:
    Thank you. Wish you the same.

    Aarbee:
    Oh wow, I must have missed that. Well good luck for your exams and then job hunt.

    Like

  10. wow so much effort into this … nice way to wrap up the year

    Like

  11. Hey, let’s play online scrabble one of these days. πŸ™‚

    Happy 2008!

    Like

  12. Mowgli:
    Funnily enough it wasn’t a lot of effort. Thanks.

    Abaniko:
    After the 23rd of this month I am game. πŸ™‚ Happy 2008 to you too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

