A new begining it is.

Grey’s Anatomy: Aired on 1st November 2007, 9pm Eastern.

Dr Yang suggests to the new cardio-thoracic chief that a high thoracic epidural anaesthesia is a possibility for patients who cannot tolerate general anaesthesia. According to her research this procedure was successfully carried in India and she has literature to support her claim.

BBC headlines 6th November 2007:

Surgeons in Bangalore, India have recently managed toย  separate a girl from her headless under developed twin. The girl is stable and under supervision.

We are good. We have always been. Now we have the recognition. Makes me beam with pride.

Finally! Acceptance! Exciting! A reality! Applause!

Happy Festival Season to all. I have just had a brilliant start.

13 Comments

Filed under A first, Expectations, Facts, Issues, Life, Milestones

13 responses to “A new begining it is.

  1. And here I thought the mention on the show was fictional! People can say what they want about India, but it’s a well known fact that the doctors in India are more hands on. They may not have the latest state of the art equipment, but they are definitely hands on!

    This reminds me of 2 things. When the actress Sridevi had her mom flown all the way to the US to have a tumor removed. Unfortunately & horrifically the doctors operated on the wrong side of her brain. Sad!

    And the second:
    A few years ago, one of my cousins who resides in the Middle East suddenly seemed to be paralysed from the neck down. Doctors were unable to figure out what was wrong. Tests were sent to Germany, but to no avail. My cousin was scared out of his wits – not being able to move or talk for a week, not knowing if he was ever going to recover. His mom decided she had enough. She took him on the next flight to Bombay where in no time he was diagnosed (apparently it was an infection of some sort affecting a vital part of his brain – I can’t remember the name of his condition). They promptly put him on steroids. He made a full recovery & is doing just as well before he fell sick.

    I am indeed proud. Yes, you & your kind are good! You have always been! I should know…(You know what I’m referring to, right?).

    Miss EU, my friend, Thank you. You make us proud!

    Like

  2. reminds me of a news piece i saw once about the first successful use of potato skin as the most effective bandage. something like that. don’t quite remember it very well.

    in any case – a great new year ahead. nice way to kick it off! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. MeCutePants:
    I agree horrific things happen in the field of medicine. Thanks, I do know what you are talking of. How ever this post wasn’t for comparison. After all I am sitting in the US as I type this. I just feel we aren’t accepted for what we are worth and when a prime time glamorous TV serial like Grey’s anatomy makes a mention you know how accepted the concept of Indians is. I have just wanted to put the fact and fiction together.How ever thanks for your high praise. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gaizabonts:
    You are on the right track. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mowgli:
    Totally wow na?

    Like

  4. Roaring applause!!

    Your post makes me beam with pride too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I did realize that you were in the US. :o) While my comment was not a means of comparison I often hear comments where people think that India is completely devoid of any proper medical facilities, my comment was in response to that. My comment was just something I heard growing up & while I didn’t really pay heed to it much, I did realize that there were instances that it was true.

    It is gratifying to have a popular show like Grey’s mention India in that light, putting it on the forefront of an innovative medical practice. No doubt about that.

    For the other thing I will email you, because I would like to know your memory of the incident. Or perhaps I’ve already asked you…

    Like

  6. Aarbee:
    I am glad.

    MsCutePants:
    You have already asked me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. it’s so common to hear phrases like “I will take her/him to the US where the best doctors in the world can operate”, particularly on television. India is NOT a backward country, especially in education. We are just a poor country, but only in comparison to the giants. I think we are in fact doing quite well and we have good resources, particularly doctors. And I have a feeling some of the best doctors in the US just might be Indians.
    Happy Diwali! Have a good weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. oops..i missed wishing you on your birthday ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Even if it’s belated, here’s a birthday hug and kisses your way..muah!

    Like

  9. I was searching for this kind of a blog for months now. Actually lost the hope of finding one, but here i am ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the great articles! Looking forward for a little read after dinner ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. LMM:
    You said it quite right, but you really don’t want me to get started on the Indian’s here. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Thanks for the wishes.

    FF:
    Thanks.

    Like

  11. Oh no please DO get started on the Indians there. It would make for a delightful & captivating post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

