The feminist

I have been contemplating over the feminist in me for some time now. I have had a minor discussion with a co-blogger. I talked to some of my friends who even put forth the idea that I am in denial of the issues women face today.

I am not in denial. I just have issues with using my feminity as a weapon to win a war. How ever inspite of several attempts at trying to explain my stand on the feminist movement I have been unsuccessful.

Last night by sheer luck I was watching an interview on CNN- IBN by Rajdeep Sardesai. He was talking with Sunita Williams who holds the record for longest uninterrupted flight in space by a woman.

A girl student asked Sunita Williams whether she had faced discrimination while pursuing her career in becoming an astronaut. To this she replied, some thing to the effect of:

In my field women are outnumbered by men in the ratio of 3:1. Due to sheer numbers alone it is considered a man’s field. But the machines in which we go to space doesn’t know I am a woman, the suit I wear doesn’t know I am a woman, in space I am not treated differently because I am woman. Why then should I feel that being a woman I am bound to face discrimination. Truth be told I didn’t feel discriminated against either. Why have such prejudices in our minds and make ourselves weak.

Now that is the kind of feminist I identify with. I am secure, I am strong, I am determined. I believe in my self and I will because I can. I am not looking for an excuse for my failure. I am looking at what more I can achieve.

Well said Sunita Williams. You just earned yourself a fan.

8 Comments

Filed under Expectations, Facts, Faith, Issues, Life, Milestones, Motivation, Thoughts

8 responses to “The feminist

  1. I like. Very much! 🙂

    But I think a lot of times feminism as a concept makes sense for the women who do not get the opportunity to be strong and determined (for whatever reasons).

    Like

  2. xntricpundits

    I believe in my self and I will because I can.
    Faith in oneself is the best and safest course.
    Michelangelo

    regards

    Like

  3. Rishi

    fem·i·nism
    n.
    1. Belief in the social, political, and economic equality of the sexes.
    2. The movement organized around this belief.

    I see nothing wrong over there. Its the matter of perception, or may I say the way the “popular perception.”

    I know its tough to relate to as most women have not faced that suppression today and they still shout about it as you put it. But if have been to smaller places, you will see it still exists and they “really” can’t fight for themselves. Maybe you have a problem with the movement bit cos maybe you can’t relate with it. 🙂

    Anyway, I see what you’re saying, too. And, don’t get me wrong – it irks me too that you’re handed over something just based on your caste or sex. It should be earned but it can only be done after being the same level. Unfortunately, majority of those who get the benefit already are and get a free ride.

    Like

  4. I am not certain that feminism relates to using femininity as a weapon to win a war. To me—and I have considered myself to be a feminist for over 30 years—it relates to the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes. It’s not a win/lose movement, but a win/win philosophy in which all should end up as winners.

    Like

  5. womens rights sometimes gets reduced to amount of skin girls can show …

    well written.

    Like

  6. I had women for bosses in the past and I didn’t mind. They’re good and that’s all that mattered to me.

    Like

  7. “Why have such prejudices in our minds and make ourselves weak.” – I think this is the defining statement. And for some reason this is true for all prejudices. Besides those who are the victims against a prejudice, in this case, women have a self fulfilling prophecy expecting to be discriminated, adding more fuel to the fire. Same is true for racism.

    Like

  8. Now that’s one woman who has absolutely no complex and is a true performer..

    Like

Leave a Reply

