2nd October 2007.

I have grown up watching Gandhi on every 2nd October. It is Gandhi Jayanti. It has been a ritual for most part of my childhood and adolescent life.

The flag hoisting, the samosas, the family lunch, the afternoon movie became part of my identity. I wasn’t forced to accept Bapu as the father of my nation. I was educated. I was the given the opportunity to read, watch, assimilate what one man had done for himself, his community and his nation. I have heard people belittle his efforts. I have watched a single man be blamed for all the evil that exists in my country today. His principles have been distorted beyond belief.

I haven’t been to school in a long time. I wonder if they still do plays on Gandhi. Do children still sing Raghupati Raghav Raja Raam. Do they have any idea how far this nation has come. Do they realise that what some people did a few decades ago was what they thoght was the best thing to do. Are today’s children taught to tolerate another person’s choices. Is today’s youth encouraged to move on from yesterday and make better choices today as their forefathers have left them with that freedom. Does today’s youth feel gratitude for being born in a free country. Do they ever look back and thank all those that fought for this great nation’s independent identity? Do they ever feel the need to?

Gandhi has not been telecast on any major channel all of today. There are how ever movies such as Rang de Basanti, Lage Raho Munnabhai, Sarfarosh and the likes being telecast. Doesn’t matter what the medium or which film. If deep down we can say a little prayer for all those that thought beyond themselves, for a country they decided was their own. If each one of us can resolve to feel a sense of pride for one’s nation which ever one that may be, and stand by their country for the good or the bad I think Gandhi has reached us all.

7 Comments

Filed under Communication, Facts, Issues, People, Philosophy, Society, Thoughts

7 responses to “2nd October 2007.

  1. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi has been one of my personal heroes since I first read of his life when I was a young adolescent. He was also one of the heroes of another of my heroes, Martin Luther King, Jr. In once wrote an essay of the two men—on the similarities of their lives from the espousing of non-violent resistance to being assassinated. I pray that both will be remembered and their ways not forgotten in our rush to opulence.

    Like

  2. Am sure he read your post from heaven and smiled 🙂

    Like

  3. ‘Aaj koi traffic nahin hai’ said the rick guy…and I told him it was Gandhi Jayanti. He just nodded as though it didn’t matter. He was happy to get an empty road to drive.

    Unfortunately while it is good to remember someone on their birthday/jayanti I’m not sure if the real message of what they stood for gets inculcated. After Lage Raho Munnabhai, Gandhigiri became fashionable, frankly I was a little sad with that word because I couldn’t think of another positive word that ends with the suffix ‘giri’. Nevertheless, atleast it was able to reignite the concept that he stood for never mind the word.

    May we live in an ahimsa filled world

    Like

  4. Rishi

    I’ll admit I didn’t like Gandhi much as I didn’t believe in his principles before I read his book. I’m still not blindfolded by his greatness and have started respecting him all of a sudden. I just appreciate him now for what he did. Although my biggest grudge is him being given too much credit for something which was a nation’s effort. I have no doubt India would have gained independence, worst case a 5-10 years later. It was too strong a movement which started way before him. Although, as I said, I appreciate him for what he did but just as much I would appreciate Lala Lajpat Rai, Bhagat Singh, Nehru or Mangal Pandey and Tipu Sultan for that matter.

    His greatest contribution has been Policy of Ahimsa, not really Indian independence.

    Like

  5. one of the american channels here played Attenborough’s Gandhi … that too non stop !! It was nice 🙂

    Like

  6. Nick:
    Please do leave a link of that essay you wrote. Would be interested in reading it.

    Death:
    So you are sure he is in heaven? 🙂

    Jolvin:
    I will be happy even if we were reminded often enough where we come from. Brings back humility and perspective in life. As for the terminology, I do think reaching out isn’t so much about language but about communication. If the concept and legacy of Gandhiji could reach the masses with a ‘giri’ attached, I say go for it.

    Rishi:
    Well each to his own, in their understanding and comprehension of what really happened. Such is history. It allows us to look back and appreciate our past. More so appreciate our present. My concern is the emerging youth and lack of a strong base of identity in their lives.

    Mowgli:
    BBC was doing a week long telecast of documentaries on the life of M.K. Gandhi. Was very informative. 🙂

    Like

  7. yaar pair kyun khinch rahi ho

    Like

Leave a Reply

