Some things just sting bad.

We have no sense of pride, no sense of belonging, no sense of being one. We fight amongst ourselves and we have the least regard for what is ours and what we have in common.

Commonly used term Desi coined by Indians ( South East Asians) is a derogatory term to refer to fellow Indians.

Put a 18-22 year old from any other country from the world but India, ask him to study, work, maintain his sanity tens of thousands of miles away from his town in hostile weather conditions, unknown culture and unpalatable food, with no McDonald’s around and I would like to see him survive and conquer. When an Indian kid gives it his best shot he is chided as ‘fresh off the boat’ by fellow Indians who have been in the same boat only a few years ago.

An Indian will readily squirm at another Indian’s accent while Mexican, Italian, French, American accents are coveted found sexy and totally acceptable in society. Why can’t we accept ourselves.

Indians try the hardest to ‘fit into’ every other culture and the ones who care too hoots are looked down upon by struggling-to-fit in Indians.

Communalism is a very rampant part of our culture which only reflects deep seated discrimination amongst fellow Indians.

The age old Mumbai-Delhi, North-South war continues. 60 years post Independence at that. When will we realise we belong to the same country?

Indian cinema, art, architecture have been recognised the world over. People spend months to years in our country studying us, yet you will find Indians crib about Indian movies, Indian music, Indian cities, India.

While it is considered fashionable to rattle off the names of Italian cuisines or correctly pronounce the names of French wines, how many of us know that Kadhi can actually be made in more 5 different ways. How much do we know of our own cuisine?

This list is endless.

13 Comments

Filed under Culture, Disappointments, Expectations, Facts, People, Society

13 responses to “Some things just sting bad.

  1. if it isn’t already on your list:

    sign posts: each state chooses to establish its own identity by ensuring that no parking signs are displayed in the local language only. i have a theory (as always). English, National, and local. Simple. It is almost as in Karnataka refuses to allow non-kannada speaking people in in Karnataka. We are such a multi-thought country. Yet, we lack that one thread that binds us all together. I know what you mean. I have a theory – (I know i said that before), English, Hindi, local.

    and btw, what about panchamrut and ‘nakarda’ 🙂

    Like

  2. Gaizabonts:
    I am so glad you know where I am coming from. Do you also know I thoroughly enjoy your theories. Confession: Don’t know what you are hinting at with pachamrut and nakarda.

    Like

  3. Wow! That is a lot of ranting…EU. Actually I do agree with what you say I also rant at this strange state of affairs. I was just telling an acquaintance that New York and Boston were as good as Mumbai in terms of local transport – and I did feel proud that I used that sentence in that sequence and not the other way around. We are a bunch of unsatisfied people with tunnel vision.

    Like

  4. It all sounds so complex. Of course, to me, India is complex. Yet, I am aware that cultural, ethnic, class, and historical distinctions and divisions exist in many nations of the world.

    I live in Kentucky, a state, although one of the first admitted to the Union after the United States was formed, is looked down upon by many other Americans, especially those in the Northeast. The idea of the Kentucky “Hillbilly” has somehow entered the folklore of the United States.

    When I was about ten years old, I visited some friends in New York City. In a cab, when the driver heard I was from Kentucky, he said to me, “It must be hard on you to wear shoes all day.” He was serious in his concern.

    Later I asked my friends what he meant. They said that some people believe that no one in Kentucky wears shoes and that everyone one is illiterate. I was shocked at the misconception.

    So the distinctions and egocentricity seem to exist in many, many places. I understand you concerns and how they sting, but please don’t be too hard on your countrymen; after all, they are only human beings with all of the failings of all human beings.

    Like

  5. Death:
    …..

    Jolvin:
    I wasn’t ranting. I was stating my observations and asking a few questions. 😛
    I am proud of you to have said that in that order too. I hope your acquaintance caught on. We are an unjustly unsatisfied lot.

    Nick:
    It is very hard to have to make a place amongst your own fellow countrymen. Or fight to be accepted, or be looked down upon by ignorant uneducated classless beings. I understand what you are saying hence you did not find any major protests in the Delaware county. 🙂

    Like

  6. tell me about it … there is a way i tell my share of similar experiences … and it is not nearly as polite your description … 🙂

    Like

  7. Mowgli:
    I am so eager to hear. All ears sir. please do tell.

    Like

  8. Mowgli:
    I am so eager to hear. All ears sir. please do tell.

    Like

  9. This post reminds me so much of Swades, ji.

    What follows is as honest an account as I can make it, but I must apologise, for I will, like everyone else, have my own viewpoint and possibly bias towards one side of the argument… (and admittedly, I have seen less of the world than you..) but nonetheless here are my thoughts on your post:

    Re: the accent thing… is it not human behaviour? I am, admittedly, one of those people at times. I cannot for the life of me get out an Indian accent when with my British friends, and vice-versa… and sometimes, when I hear someone in a supermarket speaking in a very, very Indian accent.. I groan (hehe… you are not going to like me for this, are you ! 😀 ). Because it seems so out-of-place… if that made sense? I think it is more human nature.. because for me, yes, the Spanish accents and French ones sound beautiful, whereas the Indian ones sound… not so cool. But at the same time, I never groan about it in a nasty way, either. And I love my country (-ies??) more than words can tell. Does this mean I am not ‘accepting’ who I am? I don’t think so. I am Indian in so many ways.. and there is no chance I would refuse to accept my Indian identity.

    But at the same time, let’s not forget that, living in the west, has influenced us… and all the more so if we integrate more.. our tastes start to find a new path to explore, new cultures, new societies.. and is it not natural that we compare to what we have already processed? For instance, if we see ‘food’ as parathas and channa.. and then we saw another angle to ‘food’, like pasta and meatballs.. is it not inevitable that we compare the two? And in doing so, isn’t it in our nature to see one as better than the other? (I am speaking generally, of course) Even if it’s only for a short while, aren’t new things always cooler than old things? Do we not feel as though our old things are a little… not so much fun (I guess? For want of a better phrasing..)… in comparison to the new worlds we see?

    Does that mean we are not accepting our country, our cultures? Why can we not dislike our own Indian accent, and still be a pure-Indian at heart? Why is the love we give to our countries measured by the attitudes towards what being in that country entails? Why are we restricted to the ways and norms of our country.. why can’t we hate every little system (be it tradition, culture or religion… or all three…) in our country, and still feel we are Indians? Why is a sense of pride, or the feeling of belonging judged by how much of the country we know? Does the thing we can call ‘ours’ necessarily have to be our culture, etc.? Is not a heartfelt feeling enough?

    I know pitifully little about my own country (in comparison to the bigger picture), but I have a sense of pride in being an Indian. I belong to my Bharat.. and it is the little things that constantly remind me that I indeed have every right to call the place my Home… laughing with my grandparents, walking down the streets, working with children, talking to the people there… things that are not restricted to any one country… but still give me the knowledge I need to know that India is mine.

    Of course, this is not to say your points are invalid… why shouldn’t we know more about our country? But I’m just saying that perhaps it doesn’t need to sting so bad.. love for one’s country (or anything) is based simply on feelings.. (other factors may come into play, too, but still..) and if the feeling is not there in the first place, then why should you let it sting you?

    (I really hope I made some sense… lol. I’m sorry if I offended you or anything… 🙂 )

    And I’m sorry for the length of the comment too… no doubt I’ve probably repeated myself… 😛

    Like

  10. Sunrise:
    Yeah makes sense for you to groan at another Indian for speaking the way he knows to speak.

    Be ignorant of a country its people its heritage and yet be in love with it. I think that quality speaks of one’s magnanimity.

    The love you feel is for a select few people, a few lanes and memories from a country you wish to identify with. Do you identify with India?

    You feel India belongs to you, but do you belong to India?

    No offence taken. I appreciate different perspective and freedom of thought and speech.

    Like

  11. D

    Yes, Indians do have this unique way of undermining eveything that’s Indian but not considered cool enough by the West. I mean, what more proof do you need than yoga being rediscovered for us by the West?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

