Happy Birthday.

Hi Sweetie,

In less than an hour you are going to be 4. I am so tempted to call you at 12 to wish you a very happy birthday. Yeah your Bua does silly things like that. She loves birthdays and she loves to be the first person to wish anyone.

I know you are excited about tomorrow. I am too. I only wish I could be there with you. Your princess cake sounded delicious. All the plans you have been making for so long sound so tempting.

I was very nervous about meeting you last week. I wanted you to like me. I wanted to be that star bua. Some one you could go back and show off in front of your friends about. I wasn’t sure if you would like me. I am not very good with children.

I believe children should be children. I don’t do very well with today’s smart 4 year olds. They annoy me. Since we only talk over the phone, I wasn’t sure how much I would like your opinionated self, or survive listening to your eloquent and long monologues.

I am so happy we hit it off well. That didn’t even take effort. I guess there is a thing about these relationships. We don’t have to make efforts.The love and affection comes about naturally. I am so enamoured by all your affection and love and hugs and kisses that I cannot stop talking about you. I am even blogging about you. I don’t know if I will ever tell you about my blog. But this is a real cool place. May be some day you could come hang out here.

On your birthday I want to tell you how your parents are the best in the world. For you I am sure they are. How ever I know them from another time, when they were young and silly and even looked funny. I know them since the time your mother would get your father red roses every time he was annoyed with her. Yeah your dad. Seriously!

To see them bring you up as a lovely well mannered affectionate child tells me they have grown as people. They are definitely doing some thing right and that makes them really special.

I don’t know how much longer it will be before you will lose your innocence, or your genuine smile. I don’t know when academics, boys, career, job, will take over your life. I know things will change. I want you to know that it is OK if and when they do.What is important is how you handle the changes in your life. If ever you feel you have no one else to go to or talk to, I want you to remember you will always have me. Nothing you ever do, will lessen my love for you.

I don’t know what kind of a person you will turn out to be, what I do know, is that you are the sweetest thing that has happened to me in the last few days. I didn’t know what it is like to love another human being like that. Now I do. Nothing I give you on your birthday can match up to the joy you have brought in my life. So thank you, and God bless you.

Happy Birthday sweetie!

12 Comments

Filed under Bonding, Communication, Emotions, Life, Love, Milestones, People, Personal, Relationships, Thoughts, Wishes

12 responses to “Happy Birthday.

  1. Whoa star bua, that’s good going, now, with kids šŸ™‚

    Birthday wishes for the little one… šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Rohit;
    Ha ha ha! Arre need a fan following or no? Thanks for the wishes.

    Like

  3. reminds me nehru’s letters to indira … you keep writing like this, you can publish a book. šŸ™‚ lovely.

    Like

  4. This is soo sweet!! :))

    Happy birthday to the little babe! šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Mowgli:
    Thanks, that is very high praise. *takes a bow*

    RB:
    Thanks for your wishes.

    Like

  6. Happy B’day to your niece !

    May be her 16th Birthday will come on MTV ! (just adding to the wish list of yours)

    Like

  7. Nice letter. I wonder if we have lived up to our Uncles and Aunts. šŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Satya:
    Thanks! What wish list are you talking of?

    Jolvin:
    It is a nice feeling that my uncles aunts were looking out for me, just like I want to do for my niece. I don’t know what they expected out of me though.

    Like

  9. Happy Birthday to the star brat :p

    all kiddies are brats :p

    Like

  10. Sangeeta:
    Thanks. šŸ˜€

    Like

  11. Hey,
    I have a 1 1/2 yr old niece, my sisters kid. I know exactly how you feel. Wanting to be the cool aunty she will love to hang out with, wanting to have genuine converstions with her (though its harder when shes 1.5 yrs old) and so wanting to be there to see her grow up. My biggest fear everytime i see her is that she won’t remember me.
    Happy birthday to adorable angle.

    Like

  12. Nandita;
    I know a thing or two about that fear.But you lots of photos, weekend calls, lots and lots of gifts worked for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

