What is your resolution for this World Environment Day?

 

 

Choose one or more resolution you will adopt this year

A. I will use jute or paper bags and thus reduce my intake of plastic bag

B. Adopt rainwater harvesting.

C. Travel by trains rather than flying

D. Car pool

E. Cut my intake of imported fruits and eat only locally sourced seasonal fruits

F. Run the A/C at a temperature higher than desired while keeping the ceiling fan on

G. Use CFLs instead of incandescent bulb

H. Shut down the computer instead of keeping it on stand by

Editor, The Times of India

PS: You may also SMS, email or phone us with your views.

Mail us on mytimesmyvoice@timesgroup.com with ‘Resolution’ mentioned in the subject line. To SMS, type MTMV, leave a space, type RES, leave a space, type OPTION A/B/C/D/E/F/G/H (You can choose more than one) along with your name, and sms to 8888. Dial 128888 from your MTNL phone or dial 18694248888 from your BSNL phone and press ‘7’ to go to the MTMV menu and record your opinion.

Posted on Saturday, May 26, 2007 10:32 AM

 

I would like to add here, I already don’t use plastic bags.I actually carry my own cloth bag for grocery shopping.I also always switch off my computer, as promised. I am contemplating on trying to eat only locally produced fruits. What are you thinking of?

16 Comments

Filed under A first, Communication, Decisions, Environment, Goal, Health, Issues, Motivation, Resolutions, Society, Wishes

16 responses to “What is your resolution for this World Environment Day?

  1. Carpools are the most easily doable resolution i think..rainwater harvesting sounds interesting though i don’t know if it is really practised too much or is more in theory..

    Like

  2. LMM:
    That is a definite start.

    Like

  3. Hmm, I have always been re-using the plastic bags. I try to walk as much as I can than take a transport. I have no house for rain water harvesting but if I ever have one then it is going to be there.

    I don’t believe in the locally sourced fruits cause they are five times expensive for no reason and also not of that good quality. It might seem so but this might not help much in conserving environment.

    Like

  4. GreenSatya:
    That is great!

    What about Farmer’s markets and fresh fruits and vegetables.I was thinking of that.

    Like

  5. F and H already happening at my end.

    Nice post.

    Like

  6. Nice Post, EU.

    A & B are very much implemented here in Bermuda, island wide. Especially B – The entire island depends on rainwater as it’s major & in some cases only water source.

    In addition G & H are also ones we practise at home. And F is a non-issue as we don’t have an a/c.

    Also, CFL’s are the way to go. Please click on the links below to learn how using just one CFL bulb reduces emmissions significantly & other ways to help the environment.

    http://underthebermudasun.blogspot.com/2007/04/earth-day.html

    http://underthebermudasun.blogspot.com/2007/04/how-many-people-does-it-take-to-change_17.html

    http://underthebermudasun.blogspot.com/2007/01/riding-in-cars_6210.html

    http://underthebermudasun.blogspot.com/2007/01/el-nio.html

    http://www.projectporchlight.com/

    Thank you!

    Like

  7. Richa:
    May be you can add another one to your list.every little helps you know. 🙂

    MsCutePants:
    Thanks for the links.

    Like

  8. Richa:
    May be you can add another one to your list.every little helps you know. 🙂

    MsCutePants:
    Thanks for the links.

    Like

  9. Edu….I just shut down my computer before leaving for home today evening–against my usual practice of locking it and keeping it running. So that’s a good start 🙂

    It’s amazing that there’s a growing concern and awareness about the environment and global warming. I’m reading ‘Radical simplicity’ by Jim merkel and it pretty much speaks about the same thing–taking responsibility and action for reducing your burden on Nature.

    Like

  10. Vishwa:
    It isn’t amazing.It is very late this awareness. You are right though.One step at a time. I am proud of you. 🙂

    Nice to see you around.

    Like

  11. Exercise less.
    Exhale less CO2 into the atmosphere.

    Like

  12. Little Indian:
    Hmm that was not an option, but I am sure no body else but you could think of some thing this brilliant.You make me so proud.

    Like

  13. Of course. I can try. 🙂

    Like

  14. Richa:
    That is the spirit. 🙂

    Like

  15. You are too kind, too kind, thank you.
    I am thinking of developing a chlorophyll lotion
    then all I have to do it splash it on, dig my feet in soil
    and stand in the sun like a green scarecrow, breathing out O2s.
    Bliss.

    Like

  16. Little Indian:
    I hope you have patented that move.I wouldn’t want to blamed when people rob your brilliant idea and actually save the Earth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

