Seeking my version.

When I started blogging there was a lot of talk about plagiarism. I first learnt how to pronounce the word and then spell it and then finally understand what people meant by it.I figured if I wrote what sprang in my mind, about my experiences, about me I couldn’t go wrong.I couldn’t be copying some one else and I wouldn’t be treading on the path of plagiarism.

More I read around, more I realised, there wasn’t a thought process that was novel, not an emotion that wasn’t felt before, not an issue that wasn’t talked about.Originality didn’t exist.What did exist was different versions. Repeated over and over again.

As I have walked the streets of Mumbai, London and now Philadelphia I often wonder what was my version yesterday, a year ago, in the 2000’s, 1900’s, 1800′ and before. Who has walked in my path.Then.

What did she look like.What did she think of.What were her worries.Did she stand up for what she believed.How did she deal with her heart breaks.Did she ever find true love.Did she save lives. Did she fight for freedom.Did she battle disease.Did she make history in her own way.Did she care about what legacy she left behind.

I wonder who was me then.Whose version am I living.Did she have good parents.Did they want to educate her.She she get any education.Did she have a lot of friends.Was she kind, generous.Was she understanding.What became of her.Did she do all the things she wanted to.Was she given the freedom to live her life.She did have choices like I do.

I wonder what she would think of me.The today’s version of her original self.I wonder if I would make her proud. I wonder!

15 Comments

Filed under Abstract, Culture, Emotions, Expectations, Experiences, Life, People, Philosophy, Questions., Relationships, Society, Thoughts

15 responses to “Seeking my version.

  1. too much wondering going on there, i’ve never really thought about myself in any other form really. I guess one spends enough time analysing how much her current thought process has developed and even changed over the years and i guess will continue to do so.

    Like

  2. Sangeeta:
    I understand we don’t get enough in a life time to think about this life, but hasn’t it ever crossed your mind that some one has probably lived your life before you.Wouldn’t you want to know how they turned out.

    Like

  3. that’s quite an interesting thought. I have briefly thought about this a few times, but never too much in detail. My life has enough complexities by itself for me to venture too deep into hypothetical thought πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. arre yaar inta kyn sochiti hai… I’m here today and that is all I know πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Ever heard the theory of Parallel Universes? What you talk about is something similar to that! Though in a more metaphorical way.

    Like

  6. aparajith

    DEEP

    Like

  7. LMM:
    Fair enough.

    Thanu:
    That is what I do.I think. πŸ™‚

    Grey Shades:
    Interesting article..I rest my case. πŸ™‚

    Aparajith:
    You are Appu or Appy..right?

    Like

  8. perspectiveinc

    Interesting… you gave me something to think about!!

    Like

  9. Perspective Inc:
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. I really, really like your blog. Very perceptive posts. Thanks for stopping by mine. I’ll be back for more.

    Like

  11. Now you’re really sounding like someone from that ‘Deja Vu’ flick man!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. M:
    Thanks, and welcome here.

    Wishfulthinker:
    You are still having a vague day or wot?! πŸ˜›

    Like

  13. N

    love the new blog, the new profile pic, everything! ossum! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. N:
    Thanksssssssssssss! Welcome here. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

