Because of you..

All the male bashing I have been doing the past few weeks has been making me feel quite guilty.I don’t think however that I can be blamed.I have met some of the nicest people in the world.With such high standards for comparison , I know I am very spoilt when it comes to men.Hence I felt like recounting some of my male friends who have come to mean a lot to me.

SS: We have been friends since we were 3. We started pre-school together and were inseparable till he got to the age when he thought girls are the yuckiest thing in world.We must have tided over that stage well as we are still very close to each other.A sportsman, a musician, a poet, an artist, a devoted son and a loving friend.I don’t hear from him often, but I know I am still the first to know anything that is worth knowing about him at all.He has recently anounced his enagagement.With all that he has gone through in his life, he truly deserves this new found happiness.

MB:My teenage friend and romance.My only friend who has confessed his love to me,as in say those three words every girl yearns to hear.No hints no letters no non-sense.Just the truth.A very precious moment of my teen years.Bless his sweet heart.Intelligence, talent, a pure heart,patience,love and persistence.I don’t know what I did to deserve him in my life.We manage to catch up whenever we get the chance like nothing has changed between us.The affection he exudes keeps me very warm indeed.

SK:My senior in med school.Was introduced to me through a common friend, and we hit it off instantly.He is a typical ‘Raj’ (SRK fame) kinds Punjabi from Amritsar.Having seen the worst in life on several fronts, his passion for life, and faith in god are unfazed.He is my 3 am friend.His wife also my senior from college only compliments the wonderful person that he is.Currently he is pursuing his residency in internal medicine in United States and totally fretting about his status change into a father that can happen anytime now.

MF:My med school buddy,friend, confidante, sanity keeper.I can safely say, the most prominent influence in my life.I doubt I would have survived medical school without him.We fought so much, its a wonder we didn’t kill each other.Couldn’t live with him, couldn’t live without him.A heart of gold,loyal,passionate,hard working, sportsperson,fantastic doctor,love for the finer things in life.This man knows how to live his life to the fullest.The only person till date who can understand what I am saying without me having to repeat myself twice.He has spent hours listening to me speak fast and lots, really lots. I miss our long conversations and believe it or not I miss our fights too.Majored in sports medicine, I am sure he is earning pots of money in some exotic corner of this world.

While I am at it I want to make a mention of AV.Peculiar this one.I guess that is what I like about him.He goes out on a limb to prove to me that I don’t know him and I would tend to agree.Inspite of that we can spend hours on end chatting,when we have nothing better to do.I have not yet felt the need to make any sense of our conversations.He is the kind of person you can be your own true self and feel very happy about it. I feel very liberated in his company.A man of few words, he can keep you in splits of laughter almost all the time.He is one of the very few people who has almost never patronised me for being a doctor.Its easy to open up to him and voice your worst fears.He so easliy makes them go away.He is also the kind who seems to get very embarassed when you say one earnestly meant good thing about him.Ah well you are a really lovable person,learn to live with it.

Lots of peope have touched my life.Even made significant difference.Been there at my turning point, and then gone their own way.I have come to realise that each one has their purpose.Them walking away from me is only due to a reason.So enjoy what you have, I say.It ain’t coming back.

19 Comments

Filed under Life

19 responses to “Because of you..

  1. This was a good post. Must have turned your belief again on men.

    //Them walking away from me is only due to a reason.So enjoy what you have, I say.It ain’t coming back//

    there seems to be some profound philosophy in this statement.

    Like

  2. lovely post. Good to hear tht you’ve had different good friends at different moments.

    You take care! and keep spreading the good spirit ๐Ÿ™‚ and ps: i dont think tht male bashing was tht bad ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. “So enjoy what you have, I say.It ain’t coming back.” True. Very. VeryVery. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  4. awesome post..

    some of the women i knew also shared similar characterstics…

    but i carry the “bad boy” label around for no fault of mine… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  5. Very sweet.
    I think i should introduce some of my friends to them… maybe they’d pick up a thing or two.
    A guy best friend is comething ive always wanted and wondered about but never ever had.
    *sigh*

    Like

  6. GreenSatya:
    Thanks.I never stopped believing.What is a few weird experiences for a life time of good ones.There is a hidden truth in that statement,you feel free to find your meaning it it.

    Wbix:
    Thanks.Yes I enjoyed the bashing too.That only made me miss my friends a lot more.:(

    Wishfulthinker:
    Darn!

    Vikram:
    Thanks.Hmm and I wonder why?

    Karuna:
    Hmmm, men are generally clueless it does help to tell them blatantly of what you are thinking and what you want.Tips and hints haven’t worked for me.Well my best friend from college was the best thing that ever happened to me.Its like me wondering what an older sister would have been like?I guess there is no point pondering of what we don’t have but enjoy what we do.

    Like

  7. apy

    Nice post!!!
    Not every one is lucky enough to have so many good friends… You are lucky for sure… and you are right… things change and they move on… n we miss em… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  8. Hmm. I’m sure noone is concerned about the bashing if such words flow…about some men. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  9. Apy:
    Thanks.Well that is life isn’t it.It has to move on.Yes I know I am blessed.Touchwood!

    Rohit:
    Hehehehe..trust me the good ones are few and far between.

    Like

  10. u havent mentioned the great personality(me)….i’m sad

    Like

  11. This so sweet! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I mean…I also have a friend with whom I’ve been since I was three. We used to go to prep school together. ๐Ÿ˜›
    It is nice to hear such things being said about old pals!

    Like

  12. Dwaipayan:
    Hmmm.:(

    Rita:
    It is definitely a nice feeling to have such friends.Its been an even nicer feeling writing about them.

    Like

  13. nice trip down the memory lane…if we just sit back and take note of the innumerous people who have made a difference to our lives and influenced us, there seems to be a reason for their going separate ways later…and not being with us…they touch our lives…in childhood…the first companion…in teens… the first confidant…in early 20’s…the first major crush…and later good friends as we move along in life…each contribute in a special way…and those fond memories really warm our hearts whenever we sit back and just have a moment to re-live them!!! nice post…ciao

    Like

  14. Harry Potter:
    You bet, you have just hit the nail on the head.Thanks

    Like

  15. It’s a relief to know that we men aren’t that bad after all.

    Like

  16. Soumyadip:
    And you had doubts?

    Like

  17. God bless them friends. And god bless you, for knowing that they are precious and valuing it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  18. Csablanca:
    Thank-you.I know god bless them.It isn’t the easiest being friends with me..

    Like

  19. with men like these still in existence, all the bashing is allowed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

