Santa has paid a visit…

This week has been good.Recieved several cards through the post.I still enjoy letters, post cards, stuff coming through the post box.I guess its the result of me sending out cards to family and friends in November with my right adress on it.

Today I recieved my first Christmas gift for this year.From my pen-pal from Germany.

I was introduced to Laura by my best friend of 14 years, well 14 years ago.We were at that age when pen pals,collecting stamps,coins etc was the thing to do.Sarah wasn’t my first pen-pal but I wrote to her for the longest time.

She is my age.She was very eager to know about India, and Indians.For her it was this exotic country of snake charmers.It took me quite a while to distort that image.I don’t know if she was disappointed, but she loved to know about our Gods, cultures,festivals.She was amused about so many Hindu Gods.The complexity amuses me too.To be able to tell her, I had to learn a thing or 2 about my own culture.We exchanged letters,gifts,cards, stories.We have litterally spent our teenage years getting to know each other.It was fun.When parties, boy friends,booze and foot ball were the thing for her to do.I was busy thinking about my career and taking gazillion exams to become a doctor.

I loved her life,she loved my ambition.

We never managed to settle as to why at 18 I had never tried alcohol.I couldn’t believe that there were more that one type of beer.Oh and they actually have different names too.

Medical school happened and I lost touch with her.We didn’t even manage the yearly new year’s cards.I think for the last 6 years there had been no contact.

I went home in July this year after 1.5 years.It was just sheer luck to have recieved a letter from Laura.Then! I couldn’t believe she still remembered me.Her letter said:

Dearest EU,
I don’t know if you still remember me, or you live at the same address.But I just had to write to you, and take this chance.
You are my oldest friend, and like a sister to me.I know we lost touch. But I understand, because by now I hope you are a doctor.I know its hard work.So I never felt bad that you didn’t write to me.
I am sending some photographs.Yes! I am married.You remember Kirt?yes that fat neighbour.Well he grew thin and handsome over the years and since he still loved me,I decided to marry him.I am a happy woman..we even bought our own house.Oh and I have become a teacher.
But I wasn’t happy that I could not share this news with you.It was the biggest day in my life and I wished you were here.I have missed you my friend.
I hope you get my letter.I wish for you to know.I will be very happy to hear from you.If not,I hope you are well and happy where ever you are.
My mum and sister join me in sending their love to you.
Love always, your friend
Laura.

p.s Did you manage to get that dog you always wanted? and have you tried beer yet?


Needless to say,I was thrilled.I wrote back to her.We had some very emotional exchange of letters.She couldn’t believe that I had been in UK for 2 years and never bothered to get in touch with her.I thought she would not remember me or worse still, care.

Now my friend is pregnant..She is going to be a mommy…I have promised to visit her, all going well in February next year.Yays!!! I am so excited.

And today I recieved this parcel through the post.It was from Laura.She put together all the different things that I had loved as a little girl.She still remembers!!!

I am so happy and thrilled that it feels like Santa has paid a visit…

ps: Names changed to for confidentiality purposes.

21 Comments

Filed under A first, Emotions, Friends, Life

21 responses to “Santa has paid a visit…

  1. write very good.. from Thailand

    Like

  2. So have you tried beer yet? πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. aSh

    hey EU …..

    dropped to wish u ….
    Merry christmas ….dear ….
    and congrats to ur friend …

    Cya will be back to read ur post after christmas ….

    love n kisses
    Ash

    Like

  4. ratchtaphol:
    Thanks:)

    Vikram:…..:p
    Yes, I have!tsk tsk..not a big fan of it though.

    Ash:
    Hey thank you so much.You have a lovely Christmas and see ya around.

    Like

  5. //not a big fan of it though.

    Hmm…another woman who dislikes beer. Not too uncommon, I should say. πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. First up, got scared by the long post.

    Like

  7. Sorry, that was not long. My browser bugged up and made me think so.

    Your life really rocks. It must be so cool having friends like me;> and Sarah.

    Like

  8. Vikram:
    Actually I find myself the odd woman out.I will be sporting glass of wine for eternity and my Irish friends will down pint after pint.Come to Europe, women love thier beer.

    Yogi:
    Ah, come to a girl’s blog and expect her to keep it short???..
    Yeah my life rocks,with or without you (U2 Style)!!! :p

    Like

  9. Europe…woman love their beer! hmm… πŸ˜€

    by the way.. Santa sure is around, stay happy! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  10. Its always nice to renew an old friendship! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a sooooper Nwe Years! Cheers! πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Wishfulthinker:
    It is indeed a warm feeling to talk to her again.Seems like time didn’t succeed in creating any distance.
    Thanks for your wishes.See ya around!

    Like

  12. Great to hear tht you are in touch again with Sarah… friendships beyond boundaries… and people who we’ve never met, taht’s so beautiful.
    am a ‘pelpal’ freak as well… πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. how wonderful!
    im glad you decided to share that.

    Merry Christams and all the jazz that follows πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. And they say Santa doesnt exist. I think he does πŸ™‚

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  15. Wbix:
    Thanks girl,true that we haven’t met and I am so looking forward to meeting her.

    Archster:
    Thanks πŸ™‚

    Casablanca:
    I think he does too!

    Like

  16. beautiful post. The last lines in the letter brought a smile to my face.

    U shud do apost when u get to meet sarah.

    Like

  17. Thanu:
    Thanks, I am very touched myself at the little things she remembers about me.I will definitely meet her, and hopefully do a post about it.

    Like

  18. Pingback: Pen paper envelope stamps and a wish. « SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS

  19. Was happy to read this piece.. its so nice to reconnect.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. I knew you would like this piece. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

