Happy New Year

And I am already a month late. Ha! It has been a odd few weeks. Mostly unhappy unsure months followed by extreme clarity in thought and action. I think time for lack of resolutions is over. It isn’t fashionable to say I can’t keep my resolutions so why make them. I still don’t suscribe to the notion that we need a particular date or milestone in life to make resolutions. I think it is an ever evolving question and answer we seek from ourselves. Today is good as any other day. Something about the change in year feels like the right time to let go of the past and start the new though.

I have been  determined to make public my hopes for myself. Not so much a resolution but an evolution in my thoughts, actions and life in general. Here goes my list. I hope to check in regularly and report my progress.

1. Travel. The last overseas journey I made was when my father died. Needless to say that doesn’t count. I was on my way to our yearly vacation when I got the news. I have broken that yearly tradition since and didn’t get on a plane for the next 6 months after. For someone who would always get on a plane to go on vacation, visit family, or work at least every 3 months this has been a long hiatus. I don’t want to attribute this gap to anything. I just want to get back to traveling. I want to go see another country, I want to go on a real vacation. I want to be me again.

2. Health. I have more than a good share of pounds to lose. The weight has never slowed me down, or reflected poorly on my yearly health check ups. I feel this is a good year to shake off the excess weight. Take up a sport I enjoy. Learn something new. Whether it is joining my husband to play tennis and learn to swin like I have always wanted to do, this year feels like the right year to shake off the “I am Indian, I don’t do sports mentality” I feel like being part of a health community. I think it is time to shed the conciousness and make a start. What with my wobbly bits and three chins.

3. Learn to cook/eat something new. I haven’t eaten lobster off the shell, or oysters. I don’t  know how to make a mean steak even though I absolutely love it. I want to learn to make risotto and really good gajjar halwa. I want to branch out of the 14 dishes I know how to cook. I have already achieved a part of this resolution. I learned how to saute kale and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I want to add  more greens, protien whether it is lean meat or even vegetarian protiens I want to be more proactive when it comes to healthy living, clean eating. This should also tie in well with my goal of losing weight.

4. Learn a new language. I have always been envious of people who are bilingual. If you count Hindi and English, I am bilingual too. Okay how about multilingual, people who can just pick up a language. I want to be able to speak another language fluently, preferably Spanish since I live in a city/country wherein Spanish speaking patients are pretty prevelant. In my line of work, I feel it will also be very useful.

5. Add another degree to my name.  I feels its been so long since I went to school. Been a part of that educational community. I miss it. I am looking to do something that will help me tie in my main profession and my interest in clinical research. I haven’t been able to shake off my prior disappointments. I did start an online course right after med school. It was more to beef up my CV than to actually get a degree. I am so ridden with guilt over wasting my parent’s money that I have not ventured out at it again. I want to change that. I want to really get another menaningful degree.

I am going to stop here. I have several other professional/personal achivements I want to make. But I think it is time we keep it real.

What about you? What have you always wanted to do? What do you think should be achieved this year, because this is the perfect time.. new year et al.

6 Comments

Filed under A first, Blogging, Communication, Decisions, Expectations, Experiences, Faith, Fears, Goal, Health, Issues, Life, Milestones, Motivation, People, Resolutions, Thoughts, Wishes

6 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Happy New Year, dear friend. I am just going to let 2014 be. I’ll be myself and I’ll let the year be itself. :) All the best for all your dreams!

  2. Happy New Year to you as well and good to see you here on blog!
    I like the ‘language’ and the ‘degree’ thing and I believe these can’t be contained in a yearly resolutions – let them be timeless.

  3. First time I am commenting on your blog, I have known you through your comments on Gaizabonts :)

    I am not as courageous as you to write about what I would like to do in the new year, I just look back at the past year and try to assimilate how it was and what it meant to me.

    Refreshingly honest post. I will selfishly add #6 in your list: Write more blog posts! :)

    • Welcome to this blog. It isn’t much to speak of unfortunately, it has been a while since I have written regularly. I hope to though.One of those resolutions I don’t have the courage to write about. :)

      For me this post is about accountability. I want to look back too..Loved your post on 2013..And thank you. :)

Leave a Reply

